Iceland Airwaves Spotlights the Reykjavik Hip Hop Scene

In addition to Warpaint, Torres and Kate Tempest at Iceland Airwaves 2016, the festival has now unveiled more line-up additions from Reykjavik’s vibrant hip hop and rap scene. International newcomers, Seratones, Lowly, Connor Youngblood as well as the influential hip-hop group Digible Planets will make Iceland Airwaves an incredible show.

Last year, Skepta and JME made their blazing Reykjavík debut at the festival showing festival goers and artists that time is ripe for Iceland Airwaves to spotlight a wealth of homegrown urban acts. Glacier Mafia and Kött Grá Pje join previously announced 19-strong female rap collective, Reykjavíkudætur, GKR, Sturla Atlas and brand new sensation Aron Can.

Also on the line-up is soulful singer-songwriter Júníus Meyvant and electronic upstarts, Vaginaboys. All of these artists work together in forming an impressive bill,  including PJ Harvey, Julia Holter, múm with Kronos Quartet, Warpaint, Lush, Samaris, Vök and Liima. Iceland Airwaves will take place on the 2nd – 6th November this year with tickets available in a range of international packages.

In other news, the festival is thrilled to announce the second edition of Nonference, Iceland Airwaves’ informal music conference, this year based in Harpa. During the day, the aptly named Nonference will host talks about the resurgence of Icelandic rap, masterclasses on the relevant issues in the industry and more music business-y goodness. The Nonference will be open to artists, press, darling wristbands and will be hosted by IMX.

The full list of acts playing Iceland Airwaves so far are as follows:

Agent Fresco / Amabadama / Amber / Sturla Atlas / Auður / Pétur Ben / Beneath / Soffía Björg / BLKPRTY / Börn / Valby Bræður / Bróðir BIG / Aron Can / Ceasetone / CHINAH (DK) / Hannah Lou Clark (UK) / Digible Planets (US) / DIMMA / Axel Flóvent / Fufanu / Emmsjé Gauti / Gangly / GKR / Glacier Mafia / Glowie / Unge Ferrari (NO) / Fews (SE/US) / dj flugvél og geimskip / Futuregrapher / Bára Gísladóttir / Dolores Haze (SE) / Snorri Helgason / Hildur / Himbrimi / Julia Holter (US) / HórMónar / IamHelgi / The Ills (SK) / Alvia Islandia / Silvana Imam (SE) / Einar Indra / Alexander Jarl / Jennylee (US) / JFDR / Magnús Jóhann / Tómas Jónsson / Josin (DE) / Karó / Kött Grá Pje / Lake Street Dive (US) / Legend / Liima (DE) / Lowly (DK) / Lush (UK) / Major Pink / Mammút / Júníus Meyvant / Kælan Mikla / Milkywhale / Minor Victories (UK) / mum with Kronos Quartet / Máni Orra / Par-Ðar / Pink Street Boys / PJ Harvey (UK) / Puffin Island / Reykjavíkurdætur / Myrra Rós / Rythmatik / Samaris / Seratones (US) / $igmund / Mr.Silla / Singapore Sling / Sólstafir / The Sonics / Emil Stabil (DE) / Steinar / sxsxsx / Kate Tempest (UK) / This is the Kit (UK) / THROWS (US) / Tiny / Tófa / Tonik Ensemble / Torres (US) / Þriðja Hæðin / úlfur úlfur / Vaginaboys / Adia Victoria (US) / Vök / Warpaint (US) / Yamaho / Conner Youngblood (US) / VIO

Festpop Staff Writer Laura Capito

Tags from the story
Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.